Beach bag tried and tested

I was commissioned to make a beach bag.  The brief was it had to have enough pockets, be lightweight and not too girly as she hoped to persuade her husband to carry it!

So, I found a thin denim pair of trousers that had wide legs so enough material for a roomy bag, I checked Pinterest for inspiration and found that most beach bags did not have many pockets or the pockets were on the outside, this person is terrible for losing things so pockets had to be inside, and then I got to work.

And this was the result…

122

Now if you follow me on Twitter you will have seen the pictures I posted of this, I was quite pleased with the result, apart from it’s the wrong way around I had intended on having it wider than it was deep but after I finished sewing the pockets in the lining I realised I had put them in wrong!

As well as being denim which would stand up to being on the sand I lined it with a shower curtain, the theory running along the lines of some kind of waterproofing for wet towels inside or in case it got wet!?

This bag has now been on the first of its jaunts abroad and has been rigorously tested (unfortunately not by me) over the last two weeks and I’m told the outside pocket between the straps was just the right size for flip-flops, when walking in the sand,

LG Church display 012

the inside had two open pockets and a zipped pocket, all of which were used, one for sun cream one for her kindle and one for bits she didn’t want to lose.

LG Church display 011

And I am now happy to report it passed its tests and the customer was very happy and so I was happy.

I may just have to make some more, I shall try to get it the right way round next time !

.

Leave a comment