I’ve finally learn to crochet..kind of

Well apologies first, I’ve been absent from my little blog for far to long but I’m back and I’ve learnt a new skill.

Wherever I look people seem to be crocheting, from hats to blankets, granny squares to amigurum it seems to be everywhere.  Its something I’ve attempted to teach myself many times but it never quite looked like the pictures, I just couldn’t get the hang of it, so I gave up.

But on one of my many trawls through the online craft tutorial sites I kept seeing claims of a ‘one hour infinity scarf’, well if it only takes an hour to make one how hard can it be!

After looking at several tutorials, some that explained better than others I was finally having a go and although my hook was not the same size or my yarn the same thickness (I worked with what I had to hand) I think my first attempt wasn’t a bad attempt, a bit uneven but definitely a scarf and very colourful.

2016-02-12 12.05.40

It does look better in real life than this picture…honest, its got a bit stretched with wearing.  However they lied, it did not take an hour, or even two but I got there in the end.

But I didn’t stop there, if I could make a scarf, surely I could do a hat, another scarf an ear warmer thingy?

 

These are just mine and my sons, I’m getting neater, not so many holes or wonky bits.

Celebrating my new found ‘talent’my sister received a hat and scarf for Christmas, my friends daughter also got a scarf and I’ve now received requests for two ear warmers from my nieces.

I just need to progress from the two stitches I know and there will be no stopping me, it’s kind of addictive, and I’m getting quicker…

 

Cath

 

 

Leave a Reply

